AMERICAN FOOTBALL: Thorne Storms to two awards

Swindon Advertiser: Dan Thorne Dan Thorne

QUARTERBACK Dan Thorne was the big winner as Swindon Storm handed out their end of season awards on Saturday night.

The club enjoyed an impressive first competitive season which saw them pick up three wins in National South, despite including a number of players in their team who had little or no experience of the sport before the start of the campaign.

Thorne moved to quarterback during the season after regular passer Paul Kent suffered a broken arm, with his efforts earning him two awards, including the coveted Players’ Player of the Year prize.

The Philadelphia Eagles fan also picked up the club’s Offensive Player of the Year award, largely down to his four touchdown performance against Cornish Sharks.

The club’s Defensive Player of the Year award went to linebacker Matt Jenkins following a string of interceptions, while experienced player Anton Sieluzycki was named Lineman of the Year for his performances at left guard.

Eddie Koppoe only turned 18 the week before the start of the season but progressed to become defensive captain by the end of the campaign, with his efforts earning the prize for the top rookie, while Phil Bardwell was named Athlete of the Year.

Finally, Sam Mendoza won the Most Improved Player of the Year award having switched to offensive tackle at the start of the season.


Comments are closed on this article.


Get Adobe Flash player
About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree