CYCLOCROSS: Hundreds brave Lydiard rain

First published in Sport

MORE than 200 competitors braved heavy rain to compete in Wessex League cyclocross at Lydiard Park.

The under 12s took part in a 15-minute Go-Ride event, with the winner being Ben Tullett (Hargroves Cycles). Swindon RC’s Connor Hutchinson and Luke Morgan were third and fourth.

In the 12-16 boys’ event, Daniel Tullett (Hargroves Cycles) took victory with Swindon RC’s Chris Rothwell and Jack Saunders third and fourth.

Emily Wadsworth won the girls’ race with Swindon RC’s Zoe Sheehan, Ciara Hutchinson and Rhianna Jones third, fourth and fifth.

In the veterans’, women’s and juniors’ race, newly-formed local outfit Cotswold Veldrijden were represented by 18 riders in a field of 97.

Junior Matt Hargroves triumphed, with Veldrijden’s Keith Sheridan sixth in vet 40, David Hobbs eighth in vet 40 and David Phillips second in vet 50. Corrine Clark was the third woman home.

In the one-hour senior race, Luke Gray crossed the line first.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree