Labour MPs Luciana Berger, Chris Leslie, Angela Smith, Gavin Shuker, Mike Gapes, Ann Coffey and Chuka Umunna have announced their resignations from the party.

They have said they will sit in parliament as an independent group.

Ms Berger spoke of the problems of anti-Semitism in the party and an emotional Mr Leslie said the party leadership and culture was behind his decision.