TWENTY candidates are to stand in the upcoming General Election for the five constituencies in Wiltshire.

The county’s Acting Returning Officer Dr Carlton Brand is urging people to get out and vote next month.

The confirmed candidates are as follows:

Chippenham: Martha Anachury (Labour Party), Helen Clare Belcher (Liberal Democrats), Michelle Donelan (Conservative Party).

Devizes: Emma Dawnay (Green Party), Danny Kruger (Conservative Party), Rachael Katherine Schneider (Labour Party), Jo Waltham (Liberal Democrats).

North Wiltshire: Jon Fisher (Labour Party), James Whiteside Gray (Conservative Party), Bonnie Jackson (Green Party), Brian Mathew (Liberal Democrats).

Salisbury: Victoria Charleston (Liberal Democrats), Tom Corbin (Labour Party), John Philip Glen (Conservative Party), Rick Page (Green Party), King Arthur Pendragon (Independent).

South West Wiltshire: Andrew William Murrison (Conservative Party), Ellen Sophie Nicholson (Liberal Democrats), Julie Elizabeth Phillips (Green Party), Emily Pomroy-Smith (Labour Party).

The polls will be open on 12 December from 7am until 10pm with 357 polling stations available throughout the county.

Dr Brand, said: “We’re making good progress on planning for December 12 and I’d like to thank everyone involved for their hard work.

“Now that the candidates have been confirmed I’d ask that everyone who is registered gets out and votes.

"We want as high a turnout as possible as it’s extremely healthy for communities to be politically aware and engaged in the democratic process.”

Wiltshire has an electorate of around 366,000 people and around 62,000 are currently registered to vote via post.

The deadline to register to vote in the General Election is by midnight on November 26. People have until 5pm on November 26 to register to vote by post.

If people want to nominate someone else to vote on their behalf they have until 5pm on December 4 to register. People are advised not to leave it until the last minute.

To register to vote, people must be:

• be registered to vote

• be 18 or over on the day of the election (‘polling day’)

• be a British, Irish or qualifying Commonwealth citizen

• be resident at an address in the UK (or a British citizen living abroad who has been registered to vote in the UK in the last 15 years)

• not be legally excluded from voting.

For more information, people should visit