SWINDON Harriers coach Bryan Clinton has been recognised in the fifth annual Wiltshire Athletics Association Awards evening.

Clinton, who is also the Harriers’ club chairman, received a Highly Commended citation at the ceremony held at the Doric Park, Trowbridge, on Saturday.

The award came just a week after Clinton celebrated his athlete Will Crisp’s success in winning his first England title after success in the under 20 men’s 800m at the national indoor championships so it has been a good seven days for him.

“It is very nice to receive this sort of recognition and it is a great event which helps to promote the sport in the county,” said Clinton.

“I think it is in recognition of not only my work with the Harriers but also at Devizes Running Club.

“I started working with them through the England Athletics Club Run Programme and it went so well that they kept me on and we have developed a really good relationship.”

Clinton only just missed out on the top award as coach of the year, which went to Team Bath’s Di Viles.

Another Harrier to receive recognition at the weekend was 13-year-old sprinter Delleah Belgrave.

Belgrave had a terrific season last summer and has continued that during the indoor campaign with personal bests in the 60m and long jump and that helped towards her also being highly commended.

“John Dill and now Tony Jackson have both been involved coaching Delleah, who also won the club’s female athlete of the year award,” added Clinton.

“She is very new to the sport and is one many young talented athletes we have coming through so it is nice recognition for her as well.”

Another local success came in the young male athlete category with Thomas Holmes of Marlborough & District) claiming the main prize.

The young javelin thrower won a bronze at the England Athletics U15 Championships and ended 2017 third in the UK Rankings.

Former Swindon Harrier Heath Bampton, who now competes for Royal Wootton Bassett Hounds, was named as male veteran athlete of the year.

The accolade of being named Wiltshire male athlete of the year not surprisingly went to Trowbridge international high jumper Tom Gale, who won a bronze medal at the European Junior Championships last year and is shortly flying to Australia to make his England senior international debut in the Commonwealth Games.

Female athlete of the year award went to Avon Valley Runners’ Ruth Barnes, who won the 2017 Bath half marathon and recently made her England international debut over a half marathon in Spain.

Male Athlete of the year winner: Tom Gale; Highly commended: Simon Nott (Calne Running Club), Aaron Wilson (City of Salisbury A&RC).

Female Athlete of the year winner: Ruth Barnes (Avon Valley Runners); Highly commended: Zoe Mattacks (Team Bath AC), Caitlin Wosika (Team Bath AC).

Young Male athlete of the year winner: Thomas Holmes (Marlborough & District); Highly commended: Niall Thorne (Avon Valley Runners), Ransford AkoNai (Team Bath AC).

Young Female athlete of the year winner: Beatrice Wood (City of Salisbury A&RC); Highly commended: Freya Buglass (Avon Valley Runners), Delleah Belgrave (Swindon Harriers).

Male Veteran athlete of the year winner: Heath Bampton (Royal Wootton Bassett Hounds); Highly commended: Damian Hall (Corsham Running Club), Simon Gilbert (Devizes Running Club).

Female Veteran athlete of the year winner: Denise Nott (Calne Running Club); Highly commended: Anna-Marie Watson (Avon Valley Runners), Diane Hier (Avon Valley Runners).

Coach of the year winner: Di Viles (Team Bath AC); Highly commended: Denise Nott (Calne Running Club), Bryan Clinton (Swindon Harriers).

Unsung Hero of the year winner: Sean Price (Avon Valley Runners); Highly commended: Rich Keyzorr (Shrewton Running Club), John Webster (Team Bath AC).

Official of the year winner: Graham Mattacks (Team Bath AC); Highly commended: Andy Angell (City of Salisbury A&RC), Steve Hutchinson (Team Bath AC).

Initiative of the year winner: “The Trowbridge Track” – Avon Valley Runners; Highly commended: “Win your entry fee back” – Calne SMaRTT, “Beginners course” – Corsham Running Club.

Race of the year winner: Tri-County XC Championships (Wiltshire AA); Highly commended: The SMaRTT Smasher – Calne SMaRTT; Roundway Revenge - Devizes Running Club.