PETERBOROUGH Panthers and Ipswich Witches are among the seven teams that will compete in next season’s SGB Premiership, with Somerset Rebels and Leicester Lions opting to step down to Championship racing.

Alun Rossiter’s Swindon Robins were also confirmed as Premiership starters with Belle Vue, Poole, Wolverhampton and King’s Lynn also confirmed.

Bosses of clubs from the top two tiers of the sport met in south Wales this week for the British Speedway Promoters’ Annual General Meeting (AGM) – described by many as speedway’s most critical three days of planning if the sport is to remain professional in the UK.

While the BSPA say speedway continues to entertain a growing a diverse audience, both Rye House – of the Premiership - and Lakeside – of the Championship - were forced to fold at the end of this season and will take no part in any racing in 2019.

Swindon boss Alun Rossiter – who was again confirmed to be Team GB manager for next season - meanwhile can now start team building for the season ahead with seven-rider teams and a points limit of 42.5 confirmed.

Meetings will continue to be staged over 15 heats with each club set to race against each other four times – twice at home, and twice away.

Protected race nights for British speedway have also been secured, with teams set to race on Mondays and Thursdays.

The BSPA also announced that each Premiership club will host one round of the British Youth Championship and added that a new Premiership Supporters’ Cup will be introduced with more details to follow. Other changes included the BSPA’s transition to become a Ltd company from December 1, 2018.