THE annual Westlecot indoor club championship finals were staged at the Old Town club last weekend.

The best performance was recorded by young MikeTitcombe, who bagged a hat-trick of titles by winning the open two bowl singles, U25 singles as well as the men’s pairs championship with Paul Kistle.

Nobody else scored more than a lone success despite 10 championship events up for grabs and five championship titles won last season being retained over the weekend.

Titcombe opened his account with a comprehensive 21-9 victory in the two bowl singles over Paul Coleman and then retained his U25 singles crown with a 2-1 sets win over Lucy Smith.

He won the first set 7-4 before losing the second 11-2, but won the three-end tie-breaker 2-0 to seal victory.

He rounded off his successful championship stint by retaining his men’s pairs title with Kistle when defeating Craig and Graham Hatherall 20-5.

Veterans Wendy Anderson and Janet Willis were among the winners, again retaining their ladies’ pairs title with a 26-7 victory over Judy Hallard and Linda Perfitt.

Hallard and Perfitt bounced back in the ladies O60 pairs by beating Ginny Nash and Patricia Murray 22-13.

The men’s O60 pairs championship was retained by Dave Matthews and John Thomas, who beat Denis Holborow and Terry Walton 20-13.

Losers in both O60s pairs finals, Nash and Walton lifted the mixed pairs title with a 26-15 win over Kistle and Zoe Fletcher.

The main two events, ladies and men’s singles, saw Neil Smith record his seventh win when retaining his men’s title 21-18 against Kistle.

In the ladies’ competition, Lucy Smith defeated youngster sister Katy 21-4.

By winning the two singles titles, Neil and Lucy Smith have earned the right to represent Westlecot in the respective Area 14 sections of the Champion of Champions tournament that leads to the area winners qualifying for the latter stages and last 16 of the competition at Warner Leisure Hotels, Hayling Island early next year.

One final has not been completed because of injury, with Dave Matthews and Mike Bowden set to continue their Open Singles match today.

THE Wessex League play-off final for the overall league title will be contested between Plymouth and Wiltshire side Clarrie Dunbar and staged at Atherley IBC (Southampton) on April 14.

Plymouth beat holders Bromsgrove 87-63 at Rugby Thornfield in the semi-finals.

The other semi-final, played at Dolphin IBC (Poole, Dorset), saw Clarrie Dunbar claim a comfortable 85-62 victory over Bournemouth.