SWINDON Under-19s finished third in the 2021 Wiltshire T20 Finals Day last weekend.

After winning the north group, Swindon took on the west and south group winners, Corsham and Potterne in a round-robin format at the County Ground on Sunday.

The hosts lost both of their games though as eventual champions Corsham maintained their unbeaten record in this season’s competition.

Swindon played Corsham in the first game, with Swindon winning the toss and batting first.

Preet Singh (40) and captain Archie Atwell (39) raced to 79-0 after six overs of the powerplay, but the good start slowed up after Corsham regrouped with four economical overs each from Ben Oakley (3-19) and Josh Stanley (2-14).

Jake Hobson (33*) got Swindon back on track, but a final score of 140-6 after 20 overs was below par.

There were fewer fireworks in the Corsham powerplay, but runs started to flow in the middle overs with Ben Oakley and Jack Humphreys each making unbeaten 50’s. Corsham won the match in the 14th over with just one wicket lost.

After Corsham recovered from 5-3 when batting first - before only conceding two off the final over when Potterne needed just eight to win - to beat the south-group winners by five runs in the second match and be crowned champions, Swindon returned to the field for pride in the final game of the day.

Potterne won the toss and elected to bat, racking up an impressive score of 179 before losing their final wicket with just two deliveries remaining.

Ben Higton (31) and Sam Thurlow (27) top scored for Potterne while all six Swindon bowlers took at least one wicket; Cam Oliver (3-28), Yusuf Khan (2-29), and George Tweedale (2-43) had the pick of the bowling figures.

In reply, Swindon made a steady start reaching 44-1 after six overs, but the game was changed with an impressive spell from Sean Montgomery who finished with 5-19 from his four overs.

James Pitman (37) and Yusuf Khan (44) made contributions, but Swindon were dismissed for 145 in the final over and Potterne took the honours.