THE annual Wiltshire Cricket awards evening took place at the Ceres Hall, Devizes with Southern Vipers’ Katie George presenting the awards.

There were awards for county boys U10 to U13 and all county girls age groups for players were scored a half-century and claimed four-wicket hauls, while the U14 boys and older received recognition for centuries and five wicket hauls.

Also being presented throughout the evening were our annual Outstanding Services to Cricket Awards (OSCAs) who will now go on to represent Wiltshire at the national OSCAs event which will take place at Lords in October.

The most prestigious award of the evening was for our cricketer of the year. This year's award went to Melissa Story.

At under 17 level, she finished the season in the top 20 runs scorers across the country in the Under 17s competitions, with 310 runs at an average of 44.29. She also took 11 wickets at an average of 13.64.

In August alone, in six matches, she scored 257 runs with three half-centuries with an average of 128.5, while she claimed seven at 12.85 apiece.

2017 Individual Performance Awards

Sam Ashman (U10 boys - 4-9 v Oxfordshire), Nicolas Viljoen (U11 boys - 80* v Somerset, 56 v Oxfordshire, 66* v Jersey), Freddie Higton (U11 boys - 4-31 v Oxfordshire), Kit Blomfield (U11 boys – 6-1 v Jersey), Tom Spencer (U12 boys - 79 v Gwent), Ben Howgrave-Graham (U12 boys - 73 v Dorset), William Green (U12 boys - 52 v Dorset), Matthew Garrod (U12 boys - 50 v Cardiff and Vale), Harley Sandford (U12 boys - 84 v Cardiff and Vale), Joshua Norgrove-Gray (U12 boys - 4-28 v Cardiff and Vale), Sam Giddings (U13 boys - 51 v Millfield School, 97* v Gwent, 93 v Buckinghamshire), Benji Tucker (U13 boys - 51 v Oxfordshire), Stuart MacDougall (U13 boys - 50* v Dorset), Isaac Ashman (U13 boys - 69 v Gwent, 70 v Camarthenshire), Toby Kershaw (U13 boys - 70 v Somerset), Freddie Fenton (U13 boys - 4-44 v Millfield School), Will Maloney (U13 boys - 7-6 v Buckinghamshire), Christopher Monelle (U13 boys - 5-9 v Gwent), Katie Dolman (U13 girls - 54* v Cornwall), Isla Thomson (U13 girls - 54* v Dorset), Emily Smith (U13 girls - 4-20 v Dorset), Edward Wade (U14 boys - 106* v Gwent), Lily Day U15 girls - 66 v Dorset, 5-2 v Herefordshire, 4-7 v Cornwall), Henry Smith (U17 boys - 112 v Berkshire), Rosie Pembroke (U17 girls - 59 v Worcestershire), Lucy Farrant (U17 girls - 65 v Worcestershire), Melissa Story (U17 girls - 79* v Dorset, 56* v Cornwall, 64* v Dorset, 4-25 v Dorset), Lily Day (U17 girls - 4-20 v Dorset).

2017 OSCAs winners

Young Volunteer - Rhys Merriman, Get the Game On - Paul Wilson, Officials - Helen Dolman, Hearbeat of the Club - Kevin Thompson, Leagues - Chris Sykes and Paul Rowson (Wiltshire Youth Cricket League), Lifetime Achiever - Ed Davies (runners up - Andy Short and Dave Roberts).

As well as the presentation of our county awards, the evening was also an opportunity to celebrate district cricket with coaching programmes run for the U10s, 11s, 13s and 15s in each of our five districts.

2017 District Winners

T12 Festival winners: U10 – Kennet, U11 – West Wilts, U13 – West Wilts, U15 – North East.

Round Robin winners: U10 – Kennet, U11 – West Wilts, U13 – North East, U15 – North West.

As the evening came to an end it was time to recognise our players of the year in both the girls and boys age groups.

Girls county age group players of the year

U13 – Emilia Powell, U15 – Lily Day, U17 – Melissa Story, Women – Lucy Farrant.

Boys county age group players of the year

U10 – Sam Ashman, U11 – Nicolas Viljoen, U12 – Ben Howgrave-Graham, U13 – Sam Giddings, U14 – Edward Wade, U15 – Jayden Atkinson, U17 – Ollie Slade.