These historic images show how one of Swindon's oldest streets has changed over the last 160 years.

The Swindon Libraries Local Studies team has a vast collection of fascinating photographs and other archive material that chronicles the town's transformation.

We've dipped into their archives and found photos of Wood Street in Old Town from as far back as 1860, when it was just known as, well, Town.

Two postcards show the state of the street in 1903 and then, just a few short years later, in 1908, when trams travelled along the road past the banks and businesses of what was then Swindon's main hub.

A photograph of the chemist Greens shows what the medicinal store looked like in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, while more modern snapshots show Limmex Co, Midland Bank on the street in the 1960s, as well as Arkell's pub The Cross Keys in the 80s, and long-standing family jewellers Deacon's in the 90s.

Today, Wood Street and the wider Old Town area continues to be known as a thriving hub of independent pubs and businesses that regularly attracts large crowds for community events throughout the year.

Is there anything you would like us to feature in Nostalgia? Email suggestions to