WILTSHIRE captain Ed Young says his side have no need to over-react to the ending of their long unbeaten run as they look to make an immediate return to form when they entertain Devon this weekend.

Young’s troops suffered a first defeat in the Unicorns Championship in more than a year last time out when they were beaten away at reigning champions Berkshire.

Wiltshire and Devon boast identical records in the three-day format this term, with one win, one defeat and one draw apiece, and the duo are among a cluster of teams chasing down Western Division leaders Berkshire, who are the only side with two victories to their name.

Having previously avoided defeat for five successive matches in the Championship, Young sees no reason why self-doubt should creep into his side’s minds ahead of Sunday’s opening day against Devon at South Wilts.

“We have been playing some really, really good three-day cricket and we had our chances during the last game,” said Young.

“It was really impressive to take 20 wickets over the three days, it was just a shame we couldn’t post bigger totals with the bat.

“You can’t let one performance completely change your whole mindset and momentum. We are playing good cricket and maybe the last game was just down to a bit of inexperience, we were just not consistent enough for a long enough period of time.

“We have been playing well in that format for at least the last seven or eight games and I don’t think you suddenly lose that overnight, so there’s still a lot of positives for us to take into the next game.

“Against Devon, we have a good opportunity to bounce back and try to get back to winning ways and continue playing good cricket.”

Wiltshire will make at least two changes to the side that were beaten by Berkshire last time out, with opener Tom Grant and all-rounder Ashur Morrison dropping out of the 12-man squad. Steve Bullen, Jake Lintott and wicketkeeper Patrick Grieshaber are all recalled. Wiltshire squad: Ed Young (Potterne, captain), Tahir Afridi (Henley), James Arney (Cosham), Steve Bullen (Corsham), Neil Clark (Potterne), Billy Cookson (Trowbridge), Jake Goodwin (Swindon), Patrick Grieshaber (Downend, wicketkeeper), Joe King (Corsham), Jake Lintott (Clevedon), Mike Reynolds (Trowbridge), Will Wade (South Wilts).