SWINDON Sprockets will look to continue their winning start to the season as they head to Plymouth on Friday (7.15).

The Abbey Stadium side made it two wins out of two in the National Trophy with a 49-41 win over the Isle of Wight in their home opener last night.

They will now aim to maintain their strong run of form as they head to the St Boniface Arena - and team boss Lee Kilby is confident they can pick up where they left off.

“It’s a snowball effect, so hopefully we can go to Plymouth and do the same thing,” Kilby said.

“We’re confident all the boys will go there feeling good after the win at home, and having two meetings in two days can only be a good thing.

“They’re improving all the time and gelling as a team, so we’re feeling optimistic we can go and get a result.”

The Sprockets welcome David Mason back into their side in place of Tom Woolley in the middle order, whilst Saul Bulley will line up at reserve for the unavailable David Wallinger.

The victory over the Isle of Wight saw Robins’ reserve Zach Wajtknecht come within a whisker of a perfect performance in the number one spot, only missing out on a maximum to former Robin Nathan Greaves in the final race.

But he received plenty of support from throughout the side, with reserve David Wallinger also starring to notch double figures.

It was a strong team effort from Kilby’s side, with Dan Greenwood, Tom Woolley and Layne Cupitt also making vital contributions.

“We’re really pleased,” Kilby said. “Especially when you think this was the first time a lot of the riders had seen our track.

“They did exceptionally well, all of them, and you could see them all growing as we went on and they got more rides under their belt.

“Because we’ve ridden a couple of meetings now we’re really starting to become a team, and it’s been a very pleasing start.”

SWINDON 49: Zach Wajtknecht 14, David Wallinger 11+1, Tom Woolley 8+3, Dan Greenwood 6+1, Layne Cupitt 5+1, Darryl Ritchings 4, Lewis Whitmore 1+1.

ISLE OF WIGHT 41: Nathan Greaves 13, Ben Woodhull 13, James Cockle 10, Jamie Sealey 3+1, Chris Widman 2+1, Ben Wilson 0, Tyler Govier r/r.