Swindon AdvertiserPictures of Wiltshire, submit, send, text, email from the Swindon Advertiser.

Get involved! Send photos, video, news & views. Text SWINDON NEWS to 80360 or email us

Pic of the day

n A farmer harvesting in a field near Swindon Picture: THOMAS KELSEY

11.34am Thursday 24th July 2014

Pic of the day

Canada Geese at Coate Water Picture: DAVE COX

10.42am Friday 4th July 2014

Pic of the day

n Pedestrians using Brunel West Car park underpass Picture: Alex Skennerton

4.07pm Wednesday 2nd July 2014

Pic of the day

A dragonfly at Coate Water Picture: Thomas Kelsey

12.02pm Tuesday 1st July 2014

Pic of the day

Pigeons wait in line to fly away outside the Coate Water Care home in Swindon as one takes off

4.36pm Monday 21st October 2013

Pic of the day

An armoured car parked in Wyvern car park in the town centre yesterday. The picture was submitted by a reader. It is not known who owns it – please email newsdesk@swindonadvertiser.co.uk if it is yours

10.39am Thursday 17th October 2013

Pic of the day

Swindon’s new shopping centre takes shape on on the former college site

4.46pm Tuesday 15th October 2013

Pic of the day

Victoria Watkins and her dancing dog Brad, who featured in a film which won Best Short Documentary at the Costa Rican Film Festival, and will soon be shown on television here.

3.59pm Thursday 10th October 2013

Pic of the day

A construction worker on the former Swindon College site putting up steelwork for the new £50m retail and leisure development

4.32pm Wednesday 9th October 2013

Pic of the day

View of the Railway Village from the car park at the former rail works

4.44pm Tuesday 8th October 2013

Pic of the day

A petunia amid autumn leaves at the Town Gardens, in Old Town

5.01pm Thursday 19th September 2013

Pic of the day

Friendly cows on Vowley Farm

6.07pm Wednesday 18th September 2013

Pic of the day

The Oasis Leisure Centre

3.30pm Tuesday 17th September 2013

Pic of the day

Harry Boynton shows off his skills at the skate park warehouse at the Hawksworth Estate in Swindon

3.50pm Monday 16th September 2013

Pic of the day

Councillors Des Moffatt, Jim Grant and Peter Watts cleared away overgrown weeds at Olive Grove in Rodbourne Cheney

11.51am Monday 16th September 2013

Pic of the day

The striking building of Christ Church against a blue sky.

5.34pm Thursday 12th September 2013

Pic of the day

Sunset from Waterhay near Ashton Keynes. Picture by Neil Herbert.

3.00pm Thursday 5th September 2013

Pic of the day

A clear September night over Swindon Town Centre

6.22pm Wednesday 4th September 2013

Pic of the day

A heron on Kingshill canal towpath

2.34pm Tuesday 3rd September 2013

Pic of the day

Swindon Town reserve goalkeeper Tyrell Belford makes a splashing entrance by the sprinklers during the team warm-up before Saturday’s game with Crewe

4.47pm Monday 2nd September 2013

Pic of the day

Two adorable rare additions have joined the group of Humboldt Penguins at Cotswold Wildlife Park.

11.18am Monday 2nd September 2013

Pic of the day

Volunteers rechalking the Uffington White Horse, from left, Jo Barber, Analise Draper and Linda Barber

9.23am Friday 30th August 2013

Pic of the day

Birds of prey flying display at Cricklade Show

2.40pm Wednesday 28th August 2013

Pic of the day

Jacob and Jessica Hatherall-Machin, of Bourton, have grown a nine feet tall sunflower – and it’s still growing

4.15pm Sunday 25th August 2013

Pic of the day

80-year-old Denis Hedges, from Swindon, is cycling from Land’s End to John O Groats to raise money for the Make A Wish charity

5.31pm Tuesday 20th August 2013

Pic of the day

Caitlin Walsh, five, is pictured at a fun day to raise funds for The Monday Cafe at John Moulton Hall in Penhill Drive. Look out in the Adver this week for more pictures from the event.

4.20pm Monday 19th August 2013

Pic of the day

tephanie and Matthew Slater at the Maize Maze at Braydon Manor Farm, which opened on Saturday

9.21am Monday 19th August 2013

Pic of the day

The driver of this car found an unusual way to park his or her vehicle in the RAFA Club car park, in Belle Vue Road, Old Town

4.44pm Friday 16th August 2013

Pic of the day

A buzzard dive bombing a red kite just outside Ashton Keynes Picture: BOB PHILPOTT

11.07am Thursday 15th August 2013

Pic of the day

3.48pm Wednesday 14th August 2013

Pic of the day

Meet the latest addition to the animal kingdom at the Cotswold Wildlife Park. White rhinoceros Astrid was born recently to mum Nancy and dad Monty and is sure to be a firm favourite this summer.

4.43pm Tuesday 13th August 2013

Pic of the day

Ploughing the fields near Barbury Castle

4.58pm Monday 12th August 2013

Pic of the day

One of the reptiles cared for by Andy Browne, who runs Swindon Reptile Rescue. He needs to raise £5,000 to register as a charity

3.41pm Friday 9th August 2013

Pic of the day

Jolanta Szczygielska with her daughter Zuzanna at one of Swindon’s Children’s Centres

4.36pm Thursday 8th August 2013

Pic of the day

Birds in the aviary in the Town Gardens

4.29pm Wednesday 7th August 2013

Pic of the day

Joyce Rogers, left, and Ann Baston at the Holiday At Home Club for the elderly at Devizes Road Evangelical Church.

8.47am Tuesday 6th August 2013

Pic of the day

Enjoying the summer school art group at Commonweal School are Alice, Fin and Kan

12.09pm Friday 2nd August 2013

Pic of the day

Children from Chernobyl visited Specsavers to have their eyes tested, Pictured is Oleksii Sidozenko.

12.11pm Friday 2nd August 2013

Pic of the day

Doris Cruis enjoys a vintage tea party held at Royal Wootton Bassett Academy.

9.02am Thursday 11th July 2013

Pic of the day

Geese sun themselves at Coate Water

3.03pm Wednesday 10th July 2013

Pic of the day

One of the first crop circles of the season in a field near Broad Hinton. Picture by Neil Maw.

3.01pm Wednesday 10th July 2013

Pic of the day

Admiring her eye-catching makeover at the Old Town market and music extravaganza is six-year-old Fraya Wilson.

2.59pm Wednesday 10th July 2013

Pic of the day

A pair of curious goats peer out of a window at Neustift Dairy at Lyneham.

2.58pm Wednesday 10th July 2013

Pic of the day

The new town centre car park.

2.57pm Wednesday 10th July 2013

Pic of the day

The repainted faces of Highworth Church clock tower are delivered back to the church.

2.56pm Wednesday 10th July 2013

Pic of the day

Butterfly World at Studley Grange is having its best year ever. Pictured is Phil Noon with a Cattle Heart butterfly.

2.54pm Wednesday 10th July 2013

Pic of the day

Meerkats frin Studley Grange helped fundraiser Lucy Stockall launch the charity's latest fundraising campaign by hosting a Blooming Great Tea Party to raise money for Marie Curie Cancer Care.

2.52pm Wednesday 10th July 2013

Pic of the day

O'Fiddleary entertaining the crowd at East Wichel Primary School's summer fete on June 29.

2.50pm Wednesday 10th July 2013

Pic of the day

4.08pm Tuesday 22nd October 2013

Pic of the day

Autumn sunshine in Lawn Woods Picture: DAVE COX

4.42pm Thursday 24th October 2013

Pic of the day

Development work at the new college site Picture: DAVE COX

5.04pm Thursday 24th October 2013

Pic of the day

Why is former XTC star and Shriekback frontman Barry Andrews hanging out with a lizard?

5.50pm Thursday 24th October 2013

Pic of the day

5.09pm Monday 28th October 2013

Pic of the day

Buildings gleam in a puddle in Wood Street

5.48pm Monday 28th October 2013

Pic of the day

4.40pm Tuesday 29th October 2013

Pic of the day

The County Ground Hotel’s inflatable gargoyle

4.17pm Thursday 31st October 2013

Pic of the day

ot any sugar lumps?...a couple of horses come up to say hello in Minety Picture: Alex Skennerton

5.58pm Friday 15th November 2013

Pic of the day

Autumn leaves at Lydiard Park Picture: VICKY SCIPIO

5.21pm Tuesday 19th November 2013

Pic of the day

n Matt Tarkowski, of Year 6 at Holy Rood Junior School learns street dance as part of Anti Bullying Week Picture: Alex Skennerton

11.00am Wednesday 20th November 2013

Pic of the day

An atmospheric view of the diving board at Coate Water Picture: Clive Bassett

11.47am Wednesday 20th November 2013

Pic of the day

Station Road underpass Picture: Alex Skennerton

11.55am Wednesday 20th November 2013

Pic of the day

n Residents near Waggoner Close, Swindon, regularly feed the foxes Picture: Alex Skennerton

11.58am Tuesday 26th November 2013

Pic of the day

n Night shot of the Wyvern Theatre car park and its surroundings Picture: VICKY SCIPIO

9.50am Wednesday 27th November 2013

Pic of the day

The Locarno, in Old Town Picture: DAVE COX

5.53pm Thursday 28th November 2013

Pic of the day

n Christ Church, Old Town, illuminated against the night sky Picture: Vicky Scipio

4.11pm Friday 29th November 2013

Pic of the day

n Reception and Year 1 at Catherine Wayte Primary School who are putting on a nativity play at school Picture: VICKY SCIPIO

4.07pm Tuesday 3rd December 2013

Pic of the day

n Robin Langston with his Christmas lights on his home in Penhill Picture: STUART HARRISON

4.10pm Tuesday 3rd December 2013

Pic of the day

A de-lighted Mason Wyatt at the turning on of the illuminations in Old Town

4.31pm Tuesday 3rd December 2013

Pic of the day

Christmas lights on Akers way being enjoyed as cars pass by Picture: ALEX SKENNERTON

11.31am Wednesday 4th December 2013

Pic of the day

n Skating board Picture: VICKY SCIPIO

1.21pm Friday 6th December 2013

Pic of the day

5.46pm Tuesday 10th December 2013

Pic of the day

Fog over the A419

1.08pm Friday 13th December 2013

Pic of the day

Iris staring into a Christmas decoration at the Outlet Village

10.15am Tuesday 17th December 2013

Pic of the day

The Magic Roundabout at night

11.03am Wednesday 18th December 2013

Pic of the day

A rat snake at Butterfly World Picture: DAVE COX

10.59am Friday 20th December 2013

Pic of the day

Sunrise looking over Bishops Cannings Picture: Vicky Scipio

12.16pm Tuesday 24th December 2013

Pic of the day

Queens Park in the winter sun Picture: DAVE COX

10.32am Tuesday 31st December 2013

Pic of the day

A robin in the Town Gardens Picture: Vicky Scipio

9.26am Friday 3rd January 2014

Pic of the day

Feeding the swans at Shaftesbury Avenue

4.22pm Monday 6th January 2014

Pic of the day

Bishopstone Pond Picture: ALEX SKENNERTON

5.23pm Wednesday 8th January 2014

Pic of the day

A squirrel enjoys a nutty snack in a tree in the Town Gardens

11.26am Friday 10th January 2014

Pic of the day

Work goes on at Swindon College development site

4.26pm Thursday 16th January 2014

Pic of the day

The Lechlade Riverside car park, showing where the Thames had burst its banks Picture: CHRIS BANKS

12.55pm Friday 17th January 2014

Pic of the day

n Peter Rutler hard at work in the signal box at the Swindon and Cricklade Railway Picture: DAVE COX

5.22pm Tuesday 21st January 2014

Pic of the day

A heron takes to the air above one of the lakes in Lawns Woods Picture: DAVE COX

2.54pm Thursday 23rd January 2014

Pic of the day

Sunset over Swindon Picture: Alex Skennerton

2.57pm Thursday 23rd January 2014

Pic of the day

A tropical bird in the Town Gardens Picture: DAVE COX

5.46pm Friday 24th January 2014

Pic of the day

Flowers etched with frost Picture: THOMAS KELSEY

5.39pm Tuesday 4th February 2014

Pic of the day

A bird feeding at Stanton Park Picture: THOMAS KELSEY

5.29pm Thursday 6th February 2014

Pic of the day

Wroughton in the mist Picture: THOMAS KELSEY

4.46pm Tuesday 11th February 2014

Pic of the day

n A dog dries off after having a swim in Lydiard Park lake Picture: Alex Skennerton

5.04pm Tuesday 11th February 2014

Pic of the day

A view through an alleyway in Swindon’s Railway Village Picture: ALEX SKENNERTON

5.26pm Tuesday 18th February 2014

Pic of the day

A car makes it through the flooding in Queens Drive Picture: STUART HARRISON

5.30pm Tuesday 18th February 2014

Pic of the day

n Schools from around North Wiltshire, including Cricklade, Lyneham and Wootton Bassett, take part in North Wiltshire Music Festival at the Oasis Picture THOMAS KELSEY

5.38pm Tuesday 18th February 2014

Pic of the day

A view of the David Murray John building taken tthough the redevelopment of the old college site in Regent Circus Picture: DAVE COX

3.23pm Wednesday 19th February 2014

Pic of the day

n Tom Rhys enjoys a hot chocolate in Royal Wootton Bassett Picture: THOMAS KELSEY

1.13pm Thursday 20th February 2014

Pic of the day

n 15 year old Salvatore Iannetelli pictured with his skateboard Picture: STUART HARRISON

4.26pm Friday 21st February 2014

Pic of the day

A commuter in Royal Wootton Bassett Picture: THOMAS KELSEY

4.38pm Wednesday 26th February 2014

Pic of the day

Churchfields School under a rainbow Picture: THOMAS KELSEY

5.17pm Thursday 27th February 2014

Pic of the day

n Tom and Stanley Harris enjoy a sunny bike ride together Picture: THOMAS KELSEY

4.35pm Tuesday 11th March 2014

Pic of the day

n Jessamine Hammond smelling the daffodils in Lydiard Park Picture: ALEX SKENNERTON

4.52pm Tuesday 11th March 2014

Pic of the day

Recycling European metal at Gipsy Lane Picture: DAVE COX

5.53pm Thursday 13th March 2014

Pic of the day

n Daffodils in bloom along the road to Royal Wootton Bassett Picture: ALEX SKENNERTON

12.39pm Tuesday 18th March 2014

Pic of the day

n Churchfields Academy pupil Roberto picks his target during the charity Sport Relief event yesterday where children got to soak their teachers with sponges Picture: DAVE COX

12.57pm Tuesday 18th March 2014

Pic of the day

n EJ, a Hounds For Heroes’ dog, trained to provide assistance to disabled ex-servicemen Picture: Thomas Kelsey

3.34pm Thursday 27th March 2014

Pic of the day

A heron enjoying lunch on the Wilts & Berks canal, Kingshill Picture: PHIL SELBY

11.48am Tuesday 8th April 2014

Pic of the day

n The baby Giant Anteater (or ‘Ant Bear’) clinging to its mother’s back in Cotswold Wildlife Park. It is the first pup for parents Zeta and Zorro

10.31am Thursday 10th April 2014

Pic of the day

Bee keepers at work in Lydiard Park Picture: ALEX SKENNERTON

11.20am Tuesday 22nd April 2014

Pic of the day

Kid goats at Roves Farm Picture: Alex Skennerton

11.34am Tuesday 22nd April 2014

Pic of the day

n Max in the bluebells at Badbury Wood, Great Coxwell Picture: DAVE COX

9.53am Wednesday 23rd April 2014

Pic of the day

n Amelie enjoying the merrygoround provided by Steven Hill funfair in the town centre Picture: ALEX SKENNERTON

11.19am Thursday 24th April 2014

Pic of the day

Ducks in a flap at Lydiard Park Picture: THOMAS KELSEY

11.43am Tuesday 29th April 2014

Pic of the day

Construction work going on near the Spotted Cow in Marlborough Road, close to the Great Western Hospital Picture: Alex Skennerton

5.25pm Friday 2nd May 2014

Pic of the day

A swan take a backward glance at Coate Water Picture: DAVE COX

4.20pm Tuesday 13th May 2014

Pic of the day

Ponies in Lydiard Park Picture: STUART HARRISON

10.16am Thursday 15th May 2014

Pic of the day

Santa outside the Christmas Shop at Lechlade Picture: THOMAS KELSEY

11.38am Friday 16th May 2014

Pic of the day

Squirrel in the Town Gardens Picture: Tom Kelsey

10.55am Thursday 22nd May 2014

Pic of the day

n White Horse and yellow fields by Broad Town Picture: THOMAS KELSEY

11.41am Tuesday 27th May 2014

Pic of the day

We’re not moooo-ving... cows looking over Hackpen Hill Picture: THOMAS KELSEY

2.51pm Tuesday 17th June 2014

Pic of the day

Brutus the turtle Picture: THOMAS KELSEY

5.05pm Friday 20th June 2014

Pic of the day

10.34am Wednesday 25th June 2014

Pic of the day

10.19am Friday 27th June 2014

Click and drag to scroll through the thumbnails

Related galleries


click2find


About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree